The new World Trade Center (WTC) is a vision of downtown New York that combines modern, safe and sustainable commercial space, convenient transportation, and a destination cultural center. The new WTC will include:
  • Five new skyscrapers (1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 WTC)  
  • The National September 11 Memorial & Museum at the World Trade Center 
  • The World Trade Center Transportation Hub 
  •  550,000 square feet of retail space 
  •  A Performing Arts Center   

This vision represents an unprecedented merging of architects, artists, and urban developers, including Santiago Calatrava, David Childs, Norman Foster, Frank Gehry, Daniel Libeskind, Fumihiko Maki, and Richard Rogers. The singular goal is a grand new urban center for 21st century New York. The construction is part of an effort to memorialize and rebuild following the destruction of the original World Trade Center complex during the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s